Well, I almost made it. I ended up 4 books short of the 30 books I had set as a target for myself in June 2012. Still 26 books in 6 months is a good beginning to getting back on the band wagon of learning more and more. Along with books this year, I’ve extended my reading to a few interesting blogs, mostly dealing with writing and History. 2012 had been an interesting year, lower on travel than the year before, but with more writing and more family time. I hope this year will include driving and exercise on the achievements list! 🙂

Thanks largely to my local library, I was able to read these books the last few months.

1.The Catcher in the Rye, J.D.Salinger
2.The Great Gatsby, F. Scott Fitzgerald
3.Lord of the Flies, William Golding
4.Living above the level of Mediocrity, Chuck Swindoll
5.Not my Will, Francena Arnold
6.The Time Machine, H.G. Wells
7.Bird by bird: Some instructions on Writing and life, Anne Lamott
8.The 13 clocks, James Thurber
9.The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks, Rebecca Skloot
10.Jane Eyre, Charlotte Bronte
11.The Happy Cat:Beasts, Super-Beasts and Monsters, Saki
12.Slaughterhouse-Five, Kurt Vonnegut
13.The Devil in the White City, Erik Larson
14.Sacred Marriage, Gary L Thomas
15.Of Mice and Men, John Steinbeck
16.Cloud Atlas, David Mitchell
17.A Seperate Peace, John Knowles
18.After the Quake:Stories, Haruki Murakami
19.The Name of the Rose, Umberto Eco
20.Tales from Watership Down, Richard Adams
21.Never let me go, Kazuo Ishiguro
22.Candide, Voltaire
23.The Guest of Honour, Irving Wallace
24.Bridget Jones’s Diary, Helen Fielding
25.Ladies Coupe, Anita Nair
26.A Game of Thrones, George R R Martin

There were quite a few spectacular books and if you press for favourites, they would be ‘Living above the level of Mediocrity’ followed by ‘Lord of the Flies’. I fell in love with Saki again reading his ‘The Happy Cat:Beasts, Super-Beasts and Monsters‘. I think my biggest surprise was ‘Tales from Watership Down‘. It’s classified as Chidren’s Literature should you look for it in Wikipedia, but I loved the fantasy world of the rabbits and came out twitching my imaginary whiskers and itching for another story from El-ahrairah.

