Whump!! They come out of the blue. What is the purpose of your life? What will you have gained at the end of your life? What is your life worth? These questions are innocuous in themselves. It is what they insinuate. That I did not have a purpose in life. That what I did until now, was of no consequence to anyone. That I was worthless and useless and my choices meant I would end up alone and friendless. My significance roller-coastered to nothingness in the blink of an eye. Till I remembered “your adversary the devil, as a roaring lion, walks about, seeking whom he may devour:

It happens to the best of us. When we’re least prepared for it. An event, a word, a meeting, a comparison will set us off questioning our self-worth and actions. What is my ministry accomplishing? Am I a good Mom? Am I making the right choices? Should I be making more money? Am I obedient enough? Maybe I should just listen to my neighbours. Maybe I should invest in some real estate. Will I ever make a difference? Questions that never end. Questions that depress, gnaw and takes one to edge of sanity. Questions that dam the flow of hope and evaporate purpose from life.

Though such reactions are natural and sometime bog us down for days and weeks, what we must understand is that “the thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy“. To destroy our peace, to destroy our relationship with Christ our strength and to destroy the Church. Nothing affords the evil one greater joy.“It does not matter how small the sins are provided that their cumulative effect is to edge the man away from the Light and out into the Nothing. Murder is no better than cards if cards can do the trick. Indeed the safest road to Hell is the gradual one–the gentle slope, soft underfoot, without sudden turnings, without milestones, without signposts.” says C.S.Lewis in his celebrated book The Screwtape Letters.

But what a pitiful foe he makes. “My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me. I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish; no one will snatch them out of my hand. My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all; no one can snatch them out of my Father’s hand.” Jesus has given us the assurance that no one, NO ONE can snatch us out of the Father’s hand. In Zec 2:8, an angel declares about Israel, “whoever touches you touches the apple of His eye“. We are the apple of His eye. We are the people, for whom when we were still enemies of God, He sent His Son to die for us. We are the one of whom He has said “whatever you bind on earth will be bound in heaven, and whatever you loose on earth will be loosed in heaven.” We are God’s handiwork, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.”

I am reminded of an illustration I heard the other day about David, when he was a shepherd boy tending his sheep. I would imagine that the sheep he tended would be part of his inheritance later on. When a lion or a bear carried off a sheep, he went after it, struck and rescued the sheep from it’s mouth. David knew who it was he had placed his trust in to rescued him from the paw of the lion and the paw of the bear. That is all we need. To wrench our inheritance of peace, of righteousness, of holiness, of sonship from jaws of the roaring lion. “Truly I tell you, if you have faith as small as a mustard seed, you can say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it will move. Nothing will be impossible for you.”

 

